British Fantasy Award

Date: 2015-10-02 08:07 pm (UTC)
From: [personal profile] garycouzens
I'm not very surprised that the British Fantasy Award scores so badly. I do have a vested interest of sorts: I was BFS Chair 2000-2003, Award Administrator 2002-2005 and was a juror in the Best Fantasy Novel category last year and this.

The award was decided by vote (BFS members and Fantasycon attendees) up to award year 2011, from then onwards vote to create four of the shortlist, jury can add up to two additional titles to the shortlist, then juries decide the winner. Also, from 2012 onwards there have been two novel awards: the original August Derleth Award which became speciically for horror and the Robert Holdstock Award for a fantasy novel. The listing above is just for the August Derleth, and the number of female winners will depend on how you define the 2011 award. That year, the winner was announced as Demon Dance by Sam Stone (female) but following the controversy that blew up - which was much discussed at the time, so I won't go into it now - she returned the award. So other than her, the only female winners of the August Derleth were Tanith Lee in 1980 and Lauren Beukes in 2012. In fact, Tanith Lee was the only woman to win a BFS fiction award until 2009 when Allyson Bird won Best Collection and Sarah Pinborough won Best Short Story. (There were other winners in other categories.)

The winners of the three Robert Holdstock awards so far are:

2012 - Among Others by Jo Walton (female author - female protagonist) [this has been on my TBR list for ages so I haven't read it, but I think that's correct]
2013 - Some Kind of Fairy Tale by Graham Joyce (male author, male protagonist)
2014 - A Stranger in Olondria by Sofia Samatar (female author, male protagonist)

Identity URL: 
Account name:
If you don't have an account you can create one now.
HTML doesn't work in the subject.


If you are unable to use this captcha for any reason, please contact us by email at

Notice: This account is set to log the IP addresses of people who comment anonymously.
Links will be displayed as unclickable URLs to help prevent spam.


Lady Business welcome badge

Pitch Us!
Review Policy
Comment Policy
Writers We Like!
Contact Us

tumblr icon twitter icon syndication icon

image asking viewer to support Lady Business on Patreon

Who We Are

Ira is an illustrator and gamer who decided that disagreeing with everyone would be a good way to spend their time on the internet. more? » twitter icon tumblr icon AO3 icon

By day Jodie is currently living the dream as a bookseller for a major British chain of book shops. She has no desire to go back to working in the real world. more? » tumblr icon icon

KJ KJ is an underemployed librarian, lifelong reader, and more recently an avid gamer. more? » twitter icon tumblr icon AO3 icon

Renay writes for Lady Business and co-hosts Fangirl Happy Hour, a pop culture media show that includes a lot yelling about the love lives of fictional characters. Enjoys puns. more? » twitter icon pinboard icon tumblr icon

Susan is a library assistant who uses her insider access to keep her shelves and to-read list permanently over-flowing. more? » twitter icon pinboard icon AO3 icon


Book Review Index
Film Review Index
Television Review Index
Game Review Index
Non-Review Index
We Want It!
Fanwork Recs
all content by tags

Our Projects

hugo award recs

Criticism & Debate

Indeed, we do have a comment policy.

What's with your subtitle?

It's a riff off an extremely obscure meme only Tom Hardy and Myspace fans will appreciate.

hugo award winner
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios